One Week Down Here in the Ol’ Training Center…

At the Provo Temple

At the Provo Temple

At the MTC in Provo on July 4, 2013

At the MTC in Provo on July 4, 2013

Hey, y’all,

One week down here in the ol’ training center.  It’s incredibly hard to find free time here.  So much of the day is taken up as soon as you wake up.  The funny part is, even when you find free time, you just want to spend it studying!  I have two companions (Elder Wood from Springville, Utah & Elder Olsen from Rexburg, Idaho).  I was made senior companion by the awesome method of seeing which Elder’s first letter of their last name is closest to the letter A.  Guess that’s me!  Elder Wood is a tall defensive-end that reminds me of Trent Owens, but louder.  Elder Olsen is a tall, skinny guy from Rexburg who was just accepted into BYU-I.  Surprisingly, I am one of only two Elders in my entire zone that has actually got some college schooling done.  All of the Elders just barely graduated high school!  I’m all of a sudden one of the older ones!  Since when?!?!

I'm going...there!

I’m going to Iowa!

The food here is alright.  It’s pretty much what we had at the Cannon Center at BYU, but with less variety.  I haven’t been eating anything here.  I used to grab at least 2-3 plates a meal while at BYU, and here, I haven’t been finishing one!  I don’t know why.  I’ve only lost like 4 pounds since coming here.  I think that that’s more because I’ve been exercising hard here and building muscle.  I’m not sure that I’ll get back down to my water polo 4% body fat physique, but I’m still in pretty good shape.  That summer back home killed me.  But, I’m getting back down there again!

So we wake up at 6:15 am and go to bed at 10:30 pm everty night.  I’m getting more sleep than I ever have, and I am just super wiped every night.

p.s.  These keyboards here at the MTC are terrible!  So if there are misspellings, I’m sorry!

With our other teacher, Sis. Delaplane

With our other teacher, Sis. Delaplane

The District with one of our teachers, Bro. Adjei

The District with one of our teachers, Bro. Adjei

I’ve been through some incredible highs where I felt like I was on top of the world…only to have something happen, that brought me crashing back down.  It’s so amazing to have my name on a badge less than an inch from my Savior and Redeemer’s.   I take that really seriously.  And when people don’t give a dang about it, it REALLY frustrates me.  More than it probably should.  I don’t show it in front of our investigators, but afterwards, I feel like my soul has been crushed and spit upon.

Example:  Taught an investigator yesterday from Singapore, who said that she is searching for God, and that’s why she went to our church, but said that she doesn’t need Him.  Do you know how hard that is to teach???  She then laughed at the notion that we believe in the Holy Ghost…  At the end we asked her to pray to know if God was there and she said, “Why?”  Real frustrating.

Anyways, life is good, the grass is green, and the good Lord’s smilin’ down on you and me.  (Brad Paisley)

Faith and Honor,

Elder Eastwood

p.p.s.  Also, don’t know how to attach pics.  If I find a way, I’ll send them.  These computers here…not sure if they take them.

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Week Down Here in the Ol’ Training Center…

  1. Koko's Mom says:

    Right below the email (above) to “y’all”, there was another section just for “Mom, Dad, Miko”… 🙂 We also received a letter in the mail. 🙂 I think I read them at least 10 times… Okay, I lied. Maybe 15 times. 🙂

Leave a Reply

