Awesome week this past week…

A Rivier in Ottumwa

Awesome week this past week.  AWESOME.  So, we’ve been having a pretty tough time, and things have been really slow since we got here.  This should let you know: we have been having more luck tracting than we have had by trying to visit less-actives in our ward.  Yup, very frustrating.  And then guess what?!?  6 new investigators this past week! BOO YAH!!!!  Taught each of them the first discussion, gave each a Book of Mormon, and extended the baptismal commitment to each one.  Needles to say, I feel great today.

Also, the ward is finally gettin’ behind us!  During ward council, our new high councilman lit a fire under everyone, and it sounds like starting probably next week, we will be going on splits with the quorums!  Once a week each with the Elders and High Priests and then once a month each with the Bishopric and YM.  The idea is that we are going to go home teaching with them to the less-actives that aren’t letting us in…but will let the members in.  It’s a win-win.  We get to teach less-actives, home-teaching gets done, and the ward gets a healthy dose of unity and missionary work.  Super excited to see our member-present and less-active lesson numbers go up.  We’ve really been struggling in those two categories.

Thank you so much to everyone that has been mailing me!  I have been loving it all and it makes the day SO much better when you have something waiting for you in the mailbox when we get down there.  Remember, I can only write back on P-days (Mondays), so if it takes a while to get a response, I am sorry but I have not forgotten about it!

Let’s see what else is new…OH!  Yeah, so I’ve been called a lot of things in my life: dumb, a dork, ugly…the works.  And then the other day, a mother (member) in a part-member family that loves having the missionaries over and messes with us all of the time called me a “pretty boy.”  Since when have I ever been thought of as a pretty boy???  I was offended…and then I made the mistake of wearing a pink tie to her home the next day…  Okay, so no one ever accused me of being smart…but still.  And then she gave me a chance to redeem myself by trying to fix her daughter’s car.  Couldn’t do it.  It was some wiring issue that I couldn’t figure out.  My dad’s probably laughing at me as he reads this.  So then she tells everyone in the ward that I don’t know the difference between a car and a horse.  Brutal.  Tough times out here.  I don’t even know why I’m sharing this embarrassing story.  If any of you bring it up to me when I get home, I’m just going to turn around and walk away.

Yup, so that’s been my week!  Awesome, crazy, fun, and humbling.  I love being a missionary and I love this gospel.  It makes me always want to live worthy of having the companionship of the Holy Spirit.  He has truly become my best friend out here, and I rely upon him more than anyone.

Love you all!  Take care and God bless.

Faith and Honor,
Elder Eastwood

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

