This past week has been…one of the best weeks of my life.

DSC00434

Well, transfers are this week, and my companion, Elder Graham, is leaving me to go be District leader somewhere else in the mission (he’s pretty excited to get away from me… haha).  I am not sure what position I will be having here, but judging by President not calling me to tell me, it sounds like I will be junior companion again.  *whew*  I do not think that I am a good enough missionary to the trusted with a newbie.

This past week has been…one of the best weeks of my life.

I’m not really sure how to put it into words, but…well, I just have gained such a strong testimony of the Savior, what He does for me, that He cares for me, that He watches over me, and that He is guiding me through this crazy world we call home.  I have seen myself stumble and fall many times in my life, but with the inherited stubborness given to me by both sides of my family, I have pressed on.  I feel almost like a hiker climbing a mountain who, although nowhere near the top quite yet, pauses to look back and see how far I’ve come.  Let me tell you, since the beginning of my mission, I have come a long ways.

One of my faults in this life has always been that I talk too much.  I talk too much about myself.  So let me tell you all the only thing that really matters about me: my testimony:

God lives.  He is my Heavenly Father.  He knows every minute detail about me.  He knows what I like, He knows what I don’t like.  He knows what I’m good at (not much), and He also knows what I need to work on.  He, His Only Begotten Son, and the Holy Ghost are all on the same team and rooting for each and every single one of us to make it home.  I know that through this Gospel, I can be together with my family that I know and love for all time and eternity.  The same promise extends to my future family that I look forward to starting in years to come when I have become worthy to be sealed to one of His daughters in one of His sacred temples.

This Gospel means everything to me.  I see the world so differently now.  All I want to do is help people to grow, expand, and realize the divine potential within each and every one of us.  Mortals will never be perfect, but we are not planning on being mortal forever.  I yearn with every part of me to yell out alongside Alma the younger when he says “Oh, that I were an angel”!

This weekend, I gave a blessing to a sweet old lady that had lived out her life serving others.  I blessed her that her remaining time on Earth would be peaceful and easy before she finally returned home to her eternal home.  She passed away the next day.

Experiences like that, they change you.

I pray every night that the rest of my days may be spent serving the Lord I know and love.

I love you all.

Faith and Honor,
Elder Eastwood

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

