“Living a good life is like shaving. No matter how well you do it, you have to do it all over again the next day.”

“Living a good life is like shaving.  No matter how well you do it, you have to do it all over again the next day.”

Amazing week this week!!!  I had the opportunity to see my first baptism!!!!!!

Ben Roberts was baptized on October 26, 2013 and many of our ward came out to support him as well as many of their family from Des Moines and Waterloo.  It was so amazing to see someone receive the Holy Ghost and know that I played a role, albeit small, in that.  I’m not trying to brag or anything like that.  The Holy Ghost is the real testifier and converter.  I’m just overjoyed to have been here to see it.  I will never forget that day.

We also had two investigators at the baptism and one of them, Keith (who has a baptismal date for 11/16), told me after the service how excited he is for his own baptism!  YES!  THE CHURCH IS TRUE!

I told myself from day one out here that I wanted to be the kind of missionary that made children from our faith, or even other faiths, want to be missionaries when they grow up.  i think that that’s an aspect of our work that not many of us missionaries realize: the effect that we have on the young (younger than me) ones watching us.  I guess I’m doing pretty well in that department because half of the primary kids in our ward use me as a jungle gym every time they see me.  Haha I love it…but I’m not so sure if I’m helping to invite the Spirit during our Sunday meetings…

Other than that, it was a pretty trying week.  LOTS of canceled appointments, investigators that seem to be hiding from us, and people promising to come to church and never coming.  But hey, that’s missionary work.

Elder Holland once said in a talk that we shouldn’t expect not to feel a small token of what Christ felt as He was cursed, beaten, whipped, spit upon, and rejected.  He then went on to say that to say that I feel or will feel anything that he felt would be sacrilegious and blasphemous…but I will feel a token of what He felt.  I will feel some of the discouraging arrows shot my way…but from that I gain great strength in knowing that I am walking shoulder to shoulder with the greatest life this world has ever known.  I am walking boldly, in the name of my Savior, to do His errand, for His people.

“I believe in Christ, so come what may.”

Faith and Honor,
Elder Eastwood

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

