“Do you ever feel like you are trying to be like Jesus, but you aren’t becoming like him fast enough?”

“Do you ever feel like you are trying to be like Jesus, but you aren’t becoming like Him fast enough?”  

That is the question that has been running through my mind this past week over and over.  I read of Him, think of Him, and pray to be like Him all day long…but all I see are where I am lacking.  I am such a sorry excuse for a missionary, much less a son of the most High God.  I struggle with everything I have to be what I know that I can be through Him and His Son’s everlasting example.

I am so overwhelmed with how good I have it.  I deserve every trial, every hardship, every pain and anguish…yet, I am so blessed.  How incredibly grateful I am to have a Heavenly Father that stands ready to help me up each time I stumble.  He forgives me as readily as I mess up.  I love Him so incredibly much.  If I am ever called home to that everlasting rest, never let it be said that I didn’t love my Heavenly Father.  Oh, how I love Him.  I only wish I could do more than the tiny bit I do at present.

As I have said in past weeks, it is incredible how fast these weeks seem to fly by.  The older missionaries tell me that it only gets faster and faster out here.

The work rolls forward with ever-increasing speed out here in the Iowa Des Moines Mission.  We have had 2 baptisms all year in the Ottumwa Ward and are about to have 3 in one month.  We are struggling to find new solid investigators…but who isn’t.

Our investigator with the baptismal date, Keith, is all set to be baptized on the 30th of this month.  We had to push it back two weeks, but he is excited about being baptized.  We are continuing to work hard with the many less-actives in this ward and are excited as we see some of them begin coming to church once more.

Transfer calls are in a week.  We’ll see if I am called to serve somewhere else within the mission.  We’re supposed to have snow flurries today.

I’m going to lose out with one of my favorite scriptures right here.  It gives me so much strength as a missionary.  Please pay attention to the promises.

22 Yea, he that repenteth and exerciseth faith, and bringeth forth good works, and prayeth continually without ceasing – unto such it is given to know the mysteries of God; yea, unto such it shall be given to reveal things which never have been revealed; yea, and it shall be given unto such to bring thousands of souls to repentance, even as it has been given unto us to bring these our brethren to repentance.

Let us continue in this great work.

Faith and Honor,
Elder Eastwood


About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

