Transfer!

Transfer calls came in today and I am going to be TRAINING in one of the five new areas that are going to be opened up this next transfer!  I won’t know who I will be training or where until the transfer meeting on Thursday, though.

This call has come so unexpectedly to me.  I can’t lie…  I’m not so sure that I’m ready for it…but the Lord knows all things and if He managed to turn this 19 yr old, snot-nosed kid into a missionary, I guess the jump to trainer is doable.  Regardless, I am a little nervous, but very excited.

Ottumwa, Iowa has been an amazing place for me to start my mission.  We have a very small ward here, but the people are amazing and so, so loving.  I’m a little depressed that I am not going to be able to see Keith get baptized…we found him while street contacting back in August or so.  Still, I can’t complain.  Some missionaries call it “doing all the work and not reaping the reward,” but that is so not true on so many levels.  The Holy Ghost did the work, and I was able to see him grow and a new light come into his eyes as he read, pondered, and prayed.  I cannot help but feel that I have already “reaped the reward”.

A cool thing from this past week is that Mya was baptized!  The hermanas (spanish-speaking sister missionaries) in our ward have been teaching her.  Elder Lewis baptized her and it was a very special day for the entire ward.

We have been doing a lot of work here.  We are trying desperately to find new investigators, but the problem is that Elder Graham and I tracted out everything within a 30 mins walk of us, and most everything within an hour’s walk…so we are having to go further and further to find new areas.  On Sunday we walked an hour and a half just to get to an area to start knocking…and then on the fourth door we knocked met a guy who talked to us for 45 mins telling us that we didn’t know enough to be Elders and that we were too young to pledge so much of ourselves to a Church.  I kept my mouth shut (something I HAVE actually started learning how to do Mom and Dad hahaha), but I really just wanted to tell him from the bottom of my soul, “You are dead wrong.”

I know exactly why I am here.  I may not be very smart and I may not know all the answers, but I know that my Redeemer, Christ, died for me.  I know that God has once again called prophets to this Earth.  I know that the Book of Mormon is scripture and that it testifies of Christ just as readily as the Bible, which is also holy scripture.  And I know that I have a work to do and God has called me to it.  I may not know it all, but I know enough.  Enough to say that I know this Church is true.  3 Nephi 21:9-10 it says:

 9 For in that day, for my sake shall the Father work a work, which shall be a great and a marvelous work among them; and there shall be among them those who will not believe it, although a man shall declare it unto them.
10 But behold, the life of my servant shall be in my hand; therefore they shall not hurt him, although he shall be marred because of them. Yet I will heal him, for I will show unto them that my wisdom is greater than the cunning of the devil.


Stay strong, stay true.

Faith and Honor,
Elder Eastwood

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

