May we all strive to warm the hearts of those around us each day.

My sister sent me a letter the other day asking why there never seems to be any bad news in my emails.  I can tell you why: there is none.  I am so incredibly blessed and oh, do I know it.  I do not deserve all of the blessings in my life, nor do I deserve the trials…because those just turn out to be blessings in disguise.  So really, I just love everything. 

Besides the fact that it was a windy -15 in the morning with a couple inches of snow…I still haven’t seen the upside to that quite yet.

So, Grinnell.  This place.  Where do I begin?  About 40 potentials found through tracting in 2.5 weeks, 2 new investigators, a bunch of lessons with potentials set up for this week that will hopefully see them becoming investigators, a non-member gave us a washer and dryer, the branch is catching the vision, my companion and I just got signed up to sing “O, Holy Night” at the Elderly Care Center where we give service every weekend, the members in our branch found out that we didn’t have a whole lot of food and the Relief Society gathered about 8 bags of food gave them to us, AND we have the car this week!!!!  No more walking in the snow!

Every day is a miracle, and I love it.  I’m actually going to steal a quote from my buddy, Elder Braden Schmidt, who’s serving in Minnesota who said in his email to me: “Expect miracles, and then work until you find them.”  I love it. 

Speaking of miracles, I love the Christmas season.  All of the troubles and cares that the world throws at us seems to melt away as we enjoy the warmth of a good fire and good company.  How blessed we all are to have such an incredible gift given to each and every one of us.  A gift that promises so much to those who have so little.  This Gospel brings peace in this life and everlasting joy in the next.  May we all strive to warm the hearts of those around us each day.  We don’t have to wait until the Christmas songs start playing on the radio to start trying to be a better person.  Goodness, if we started being a good person as early as we started Christmas shopping, this world would be an amazing place to live in.

I would like to challenge everyone to, each day, brighten (at least) one person’s day.  We all fall into the trap of sometimes placing our responsibilities to the Lord and each other behind going to work, relaxing, trying to have a good time…I know.  I’m doubly guilty.  But as we all come together in this great cause, I know that you will see blessings poured out in your lives even as I have seen them poured out in my own.  This world doesn’t have to be ugly and hard.  It doesn’t.  What will be your gift to the Savior this year?

Faith and Honor,
Elder Eastwood

John 16:33

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

