For the first time in my life I will be having a white Christmas!

For the first time in my life I will be having a white Christmas!  And not only that, but I will be spending it as a missionary of the Lord in awesome Grinnell, IA.  Man, I LOVE my job!

So, we just wrapped up another awesome week and actually have our first progressing investigator in Grinnell!  Woo!  We actually had our best week yet, by the numbers, and are really getting lost in the work.

So, it’s been ridiculously cold out here.  It hasn’t gotten above -1 today and the wind never stops blowing.  Most of the doors that open to us out here are sympathy let-ins…and trust me, I rush inside on each of those.  We actually had church canceled on Sunday because we received 6 inches of snow overnight that lay on top of the ice from the freezing rain earlier this week that will probably never melt off.  We spent Sunday shoveling people’s driveways off and it was a great opportunity to talk to some people in the neighborhood.  Some of the older women were about in tears when we offered to do it for them.  It was really a heart-warming experience to be sure.

Funny story of the week:

The freezing rain made tracting pretty interesting as we basically skated around town…falling only occasionally.  One night, when we were coming home to the apartment, I decided I was going to get a running start and get a good long slide in right in front of our apartment (we live on the side of a hill).  I went to go and right as I was starting to gain speed, slipped and landed straight on my back and slid the rest of the way down laughing.  Pretty humiliating, but I like laughing at myself!

My spiritual thought comes from what I have learned as a missionary about turning from the natural man and turning into a Son or Daughter of God.  We must do so with every bit of strength we have and then some.  Becoming truly converted to this Gospel could not and never will result from us simply doing nothing.  No, becoming more like our Father must be a 24/7, 365 days of the year sort of effort.  The blessings of doing so?  Innumerable and incredible.  The alternative?  Not so much.  Let’s all make a concentrated effort on becoming more like what our Heavenly Father would like us to become.  As we say out here, “leave everything on the altar of sacrifice.”  Burn the bridges that tie you to sin.  Burn the ships in the harbor.  There’s no turning back.  And we must not forget about our families.  From Mosiah 2:6, “And they pitched their tents round about the temple, every man having his tent with the door thereof towards the temple…”  Let’s make sure that this Christmas season, we have our homes pointed towards the temple.  Let’s make sure that we remember the source of all our blessings.  Let’s make this Christmas about Christ.

I bear my testimony that we are all one, big family.  To sum up our religion simply, we believe that we are all working collectively to become more like our Heavenly Father and are constantly striving to return unto Him together.  Love your families.  Love your neighbors.  Love your God.

Faith and Honor,
Elder Eastwood

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

