I wish General Conference could be every weekend…

The General Authorities of the church never cease to amaze me.  I hold each and every one of them in such high regard.  I hope that I can, at some point in my life, attain the level of Christ-like devotion, service, and love that they exhibit on a daily basis.

IMG_0229

Well, Quincy is amazing.  That’s about all there is to it.  How wonderful it is to be a part of a large, missionary minded ward.  I receive more referrals in a week here than I have the rest of my mission combined.  We quite literally have investigators falling into our laps here and it is wonderful.

I would like to echo a sentiment that I heard during General Conference as my spiritual thought today.  When in times of need, we should, instead of blindly asking for an immediate, all-encompassing release  from said trials, ask for the strength to overcome them.  We should even thank the Lord for the trials that we are called to pass through.  It is hard to be grateful when our world seems to be falling apart, but we would do well to maintain an attitude of gratitude as we journey through this short sojourn we call mortal life.  In a particularly hard time during my mission, I remember finding a quiet room to pray and petition the Lord for His guiding hand.  I remember kneeling down in the small patch of sunlight coming through the window and, with tears streaming down my face, pleading with my Father in Heaven that He would give me the strength, patience, and love necessary to press on.  I remember stating that “I was not worthy of my hire.”  I was then enveloped by this incredible feeling of love and warmth that seemed to heal my wounded soul.  The trials did not ease, in fact it was merely the beginning, however the knowledge that my Father in Heaven was mindful of me allowed me to press on with renewed vigor and increased resolve.

 

Beautiful sunset right off of 12th Street the other day on our way back home.  It had rained on us all day as we biked around town.

Beautiful sunset right off of 12th Street the other day on our way back home.  It had rained on us all day as we biked around town.


I am grateful to have a Father in Heaven that loves me enough to let me pass through trials.  I am also grateful to have a Father in Heaven that loves me enough to never let me pass through trials alone.

Faith and Honor,
Elder Eastwood

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

