“When God speaks and a man obeys, he will always be right.”

Transfer Calls came in today, and I will be returning to the Quincy 1st West area as district leader once more.  

The District

The District

As many of you are aware, for the past 3 weeks, Elder Leavitt and I have been covering both his area and my own in a ZL/DL mash-up in the wake of both of our companions going home.  With the new transfer, we will both be receiving new companions and going back to our respective areas.  There will also be a new area opening in Quincy (bringing us up to 4 companionships).  Trash ball on Monday mornings is going to be INTENSE!

Pres. Thomas S. Monson once said: “When God speaks and a man obeys, he will always be right.”  Boy, have we followed that counsel in the Quincy Zone.  At MLC earlier this month, we were admonished to be better at inviting to baptism on the first lesson and setting a baptismal date on the second lesson.  I felt a very strong prompting from the Spirit that this message needed to be carried to our zone.  At Zone Training Meeting, I had the opportunity to train and challenged the zone to do as we were counseled with each of our investigators.  Because of the missionaries’ faithfulness and their investigators’ willingness, we now have 16 dates in the zone!  What a wonderful example of obedience and diligence.  It’s a wonderful zone that I have been called to be a part of.

Now, the Atonement.  I recently was able to pick up a copy of The Infinite Atonement by Elder Tad R. Callister (recently approved in the mission) and it has quickly become one of my favorite books.  The more I study of this gift of gifts given to us, the more I grow in love and affection towards my Savior and fellowman.  Another name for the Gospel is opportunity.  Without the Atonement, we would all be woefully left to suffer in chains of our own making.  We can of ourselves accomplish no great thing in comparison to what we are capable of so doing when in full fellowship with the Lord.

It is with great emotion that I speak of the Atonement, and that is because it is the key to my everlasting happiness.  It is the key to my becoming who my Father in Heaven would like me to be.  I am so acutely aware of my many, many weaknesses and shortcomings that it seems like my prayers each night are transforming into something much more meaningful.  Each time I go on bent knee to my God, I seem to fall onto my knees with the weight of my sins/inadequacies/worries upon my shoulders.  However, as I continue to pray, plead, and ponder…as I forsake and recommit…and as I bear my testimony to my eternal God…I always get up feeling enlightened, emboldened, and empowered.

In a very real sense, I have come to realize how much help I need in becoming who I want to become.  What wonderful peace it brings to my heart and soul to know that my Heavenly Father is helping me get there.

Faith and Honor,
Elder Eastwood

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

