I really am leaving a part of my heart in Quincy.

Just received transfer calls this morning!  I am being called to be a zone leader and will be leaving Quincy!  

I really, really, really, really, really hate to leave this place.  I love Quincy SO much.  I told all of the new in-coming missionaries last transfer that they were coming to the promised land, and I really do still believe that with all of my heart.  I’m going to miss both wards here tremendously.

In particular, the 1st Ward.  I was here when the wards split and have seen the tremendous growth in the 1st Ward since that time.  I saw their faith manifest when they set an aggressive mission plan in motion for the ward and then followed through with it.  There are many missionaries in the mission that are hoping to serve in my area (Quincy 1st West), and it is due to the faithfulness and diligence of the members.  I wouldn’t be surprised to see that ward split again here within the next 2-3 years.  Not at all.  I am also going to really miss our investigators.  I feel such a great love for them.  I’ve seen their faith as they have grown in the Gospel and felt of the Spirit’s love for them.  I really am leaving a part of my heart in Quincy.

On Stage at the Nauvoo Pageant

On Stage at the Nauvoo Pageant

Singing "Called to Serve"

Singing “Called to Serve”

Guess who?!  Saw them at Pageant!  The Searles were coming to visit their daughter the night that I was there!  I had no clue that they were going to be there!

Guess who?!  Saw them at Pageant!  The Searles were coming to visit their daughter the night that I was there!  I had no clue that they were going to be there!

Me reading Ether 12:27 (the last scripture that Hyrum read to Joseph Smith before they were killed) at the window through which Joseph fell as he was martyred

Me reading Ether 12:27 (the last scripture that Hyrum read to Joseph Smith before they were killed) at the window through which Joseph fell as he was martyred

As for the week, we had another big week and set some personal records for member present lessons.  We re-set baptismal dates with our investigators and are seeing marvelous growth.  One of our investigator couples are currently picking out what temple they want to be sealed in a year from their baptism.  Another became emotional as he testified to us that he knows that this Church is true.  What a wonderful week it has been.  What a wonderful area this has been.

IMG_0229

On Thursday, I begin the next chapter of my mission as a new zone leader in a new area.  I’m humbled, excited, and ready to go.  I’m excited to apply all of the lessons that I have learned on my mission in my new area.  I’m excited to continue in my journey towards becoming more like my Heavenly Father.  And above all, I’m excited to continue pressing forward as a missionary of the Lord.  Nothing in this world brings me greater joy than seeing someone come closer to their Heavenly Father.  My job is merely to be a messenger and invite the real teacher (the Holy Ghost) into the lessons and into their lives.

I love this mission.  I love the Lord.  And I love you all.

Honor without compromise,
Elder Eastwood

 

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

