14 Months

Okay, so I’m not sure what I did right, but thank you everyone for writing/emailing me this week.  I’ve received more letters and emails than like in the last 2 months combined.  Unfortunately, my time for emailing everyone back is REALLY limited.  So, I may have to email you back next week if I did not get to you!

In other news, there’s a lot of news.  So much is going on here.  14 new investigators in the past weeks, 69 lessons, 7 new baptismal dates, and a partridge in a pear-tree.  Oh, and I’ve had a constant headache for the past 4 weeks and I sometimes feel like I’m going to die.  We’ve tried everything but a doctor’s visit and nothing’s working…  So it’s probably nothing.  Oh, well. Who goes to the doctor these days?  (Just wanted to freak my mom out…but it really is true.)

IMG_0881


I’ve really been learning a lot about love lately.  The Christ-centered, open to everyone, mission-approved sort of love.  Everything is powered by love.  The Plan of Salvation (our eternal plan), the Atonement (Christ’s sacrifice for us), church, missionary work, families…etc.  Love supplies the power behind everything that we do.  It is when we look to “alternative fuel sources” (hate, lust, greed…) that we begin to see negative side effects.  It is then that we have “our homes left unto us desolate” as we read in the scriptures.  It is as I have studied love this week that I’ve come upon a dramatic realization.  I’m absolutely terrible at showing/sharing it with others.  I began to realize that when I enter into a conversation with someone, more often than not, the motive was so that they would remember me.  That is so wrong!  So terribly wrong!  Everything this past week has been focused on me changing this attitude.  Rather than hoping that they’ll be thinking of me, now I work towards them walking away from our interaction feeling uplifted, loved, and realizing/feeling God’s love for them.  As I have done this, I have realized a change come over me.  I’m so much happier.  And so are those whom I am interacting with.  

Think of how many of the world’s problems would disappear if we all tried to do this together.  

It’s great, I’m tellin’ ya.

I just want to let you all know how much I love you.  How much I love this Gospel.  How much love I have for my Savior.  Let Him be your anchor in this crazy world of shifting attitudes, opinions, and values.  Anchor yourself in the one thing that will carry you through any storm.  Anchor yourself in Him.  For He is your foundation, as well as mine.  And in Him, we can NEVER fail.  You will be as the eye of the storm.  And despite all that transpires against you and around you, you will always come out better.

I often think of Job when he says “though he slay me, yet will I trust in Him…” (Job 13:15).  While we may each strive to achieve that sort of fortitude and faith, let us also remember why we are trusting in Him. It is because I know and you know that He loves us.  We know that He will do anything to see us home!  Indeed, He already has.

Let’s help Him help the others.

Faith and Honor,
Elder Eastwood

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

