Going Home?

Yeah, I may be going home soon.  Those headaches are turning into something worse.  Sis. Jensen (Mission President’s wife) pulled some strings and allowed me to get my CT scan here in the field.  The results just came in and I apparently have fluid pooling on my left temple and they need an MRI scan to see what it is for sure.  They think that it might be an “arachnoid cyst.”  I have no idea what that is, but I think arachnoid means spider, right?  Great, a tarantula is growing in my brain.  So that means that I can just grab a bottle of Raid and spray it up my nose, right?  For some reason, I can just feel my mom glaring at me through the computer screen as she reads this…  Haha.

But, we’re going to make the best of it.  I have to schedule the MRI today and we’ll see when it gets done and what they have to tell me about it.  But if it is what it looks like, I’ll probably have to be going back to California for surgery of some sort.  This is definitely not what I envisioned as being part of my mission experience, but one of the great things about doing all that you can to live the Gospel is that you have the sweet assurance that anything else that happens must be a part of God’s plan for you.

In other news, it’s just been a hard week.  Had to stay in all day Saturday because of my headache.  My companion and all of the other missionaries in the zone helped me out by periodically checking up on me and quoting “The Emperors New Groove,” “The Incredibles,” and “Finding Nemo.”  Best. Zone.  Ever.  Elder Todd even made me a quesadilla.  That’s true love right there.

Oh, and we had to cancel our baptism for this next weekend because our investigator has basically disappeared. 

But hey, there’s ALWAYS a silver lining.  We are still making progress with other investigators, our members here in the Davenport 1st Ward are spectacular and sharing the Gospel with their friends, and I’ve been working out more this transfer than the rest of my mission combined.  Life is good.

I love you all.  If I do go home, I’m going to do all I can to get back out ASAP.  If they won’t give me a plane ride back soon enough, I’m walking all of the way back out here.  I signed up for 24 months, not 23 and 3 weeks.

Faith and Honor,
Elder Eastwood

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

