Still Home…

Another week has come and gone at home and we are still no closer to figuring out what is wrong with me.  What is wrong with me?!?  I’m still very dizzy all of the time along with the headaches.  I am still undergoing many different check-ups and exams with my next two scheduled for Wednesday.

I just want to go back to Iowa.

It’s been really hard being home.  Even though I’ve been working heavily with the Elders here in town, it’s still not the Iowa Des Moines Mission.  Ever since I received a blessing from my companion back in Davenport I have felt like I was supposed to come home for something other than medical reasons, so who knows?  Maybe there is more to this temporary trip back here, I’m not sure.  But I am definitely ready to get back to work and go knock it out of the park back in IA.

But it’s not all bad news!  One of my old investigators, Rob, actually called me yesterday to tell me that he had just been baptized by my old companion back in Quincy!  SO sweet.  What wonderful news that their family has been united in the Gospel!  I can’t wait to hear about their sealing next year in September!

One part of me that continues to progress though, is my testimony.  I hope it will each day for the rest of my life.  And so, today I would like to share a brief thought on enduring well.

One of my favorite quotes comes from one of the best football coaches of all time: Vince Lombardi (but I still am not a Packers fan, Chase).  He once said, “I firmly believe that any man’s finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle – victorious.”  I imagine that for those of us engaged with all of our heart, might, mind, and soul in this great work and gospel will feel much the same at the end of our lives.  Think of that day when you can honestly look back on your life and have the ability to say to yourself, “I gave it my all”…and know that you did.  What a wonderful feeling that will be!  No one of us can “earn” heaven by any of our actions alone, but we can “learn” what it means to be heavenly and become it while here.  When you are tempted to begin enduring tomorrow rather than today, remember that true discipleship is the true source of true happiness.  The best time to make things right was yesterday.  The second best time is right now.

Let us all come unto Him now, rather than later.

Faith and Honor,
Elder Eastwood

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

