Moments

Medical Update:  Not much.  I have appointments scheduled through the middle of November, so I hope to come back to Iowa right after.  Other than that, I have been healing well, and I am still a little dizzy.

Spiritual Thought:  My whole mission, my dad would always tell me the same thing over his emails. He would always tell me that I needed to remember to enjoy the moment.  Until now, I never fully quite understood what he meant.  You see, as people, we just naturally look forward to things.  As a kid in elementary school, you couldn’t wait for class-time in order to see your friends.  In middle school, you couldn’t wait to get home.  In high school, you couldn’t wait for the weekend.  And it only gets more pronounced once you become an adult.  Now, you can’t wait for college, marriage, finding that always elusive, perfect career for you.  And then of course, you can’t wait to be able to retire with your spouse with enough money to travel and spoil the grand kids.

I’ve always been guilty of this.  I went to high school just because I had to to get to play on the team and get to college.  Same story at BYU, same story even on the mission.  Although, the mission was a little different…only a missionary would understand.  You have some days where you can’t wait ’til it hits 5 PM because that’s when your appointments start for that day, or for 10:30 PM because you get to go to bed, or even simply for weekly planning to just be over.  None of us like to admit it, but we all fall into this trap at some point.  And boom, you’re on cruise control.

The problem with cruise control, is that you quickly grow complacent with the mundane and mediocre.  You quit pushing yourself and never ever get to see what you really are capable of.  This might be all and well for your car on a road trip, but not for us.  Think of a race car.  Could you imagine a F1 formula racer on cruise control going 65 mph around the track?  No, a racer knows that each part of the race requires something different from him and his car, but it always requires the absolute best.  He must pay close attention to each turn, each bump, and each competitor.

When we set ourselves on cruise control in life and become complacent with merely “making it” around the corner, or simply “heading in the right direction”, we lose.  For us to truly give our best in each situation, we have to have our head and our heart in the right place.  I’m no racer, but I know a few who are.  It has always seemed to me as though they enjoyed the thrill of the moment even more than crossing the finish line.

I am fully aware that not every moment in life is “thrilling”, or “exciting”, or even “fun”…but each moment is precious, unique, and ours for the taking.  Since coming home, I’ve realized, to an even greater degree, this important lesson.  When I return to my mission, I will have a much greater appreciation for those few, precious moments I’ll have to spend with that badge back on my chest.  But I can serve while I am home, too.  I can make the most of right now.

It is by looking for ways to serve others now, that we effectively say to ourselves, as well as others, “I will build the Lord’s kingdom today, rather than tomorrow.”

Stop living for tomorrow.  You’re missing today.

Faith and Honor,
Elder Eastwood

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

