How Firm a Foundation

Thank you everyone for the “Happy Birthday” wishes this past week!  I celebrated my 20th birthday on Saturday with my family by going down to San Diego and going through the temple there.  I had never been through that temple before, so that was a very special experience for me.  That temple is definitely a lot smaller in person than it seems online, but still breathtakingly beautiful.  Then, we got to go down to Old Town and be a part of the Dia de los Muertos celebration before ending the day with more family back in San Bernardino.

At San Diego Temple with Dad

At San Diego Temple with Dad

My birthday dinner at Barra Barra Mexican restaurant in Old Town, San Diego

My birthday dinner at Barra Barra Mexican restaurant in Old Town, San Diego

Celebrated our birthdays together with my cousin, Marissa, who'll be 21 on the 7th!

Celebrated our birthdays together with my cousin, Marissa, who’ll be 21 on the 7th!

As far as my medical situation goes, a lot is riding on my appointment tomorrow with my doctor. If he gives me the go-ahead, I could be returning to full-time service back in Iowa as soon as next week!  I pray that I might be able to.

My favorite hymn in the LDS hymnal is “How Firm a Foundation”.  Unsurprisingly, the Mormon Tabernacle Choir has a great performance of this hymn online (http://www.mormontabernaclechoir.org/videos/how-firm-a-foundation?lang=eng).  Are we the sort of men and women that can shout at the top of our lungs “I’ll never, no never, no never forsake”?  Or are we at least trying to become that sort of a person?  I had the opportunity to listen to this month’s CES Devotional (I highly recommend it) at https://www.lds.org/broadcasts/watch/ces-devotionals/2014/11?cid=HPSU110214549&lang=eng .  I was so happy to hear Elder Hallstrom teach about this principle.  In fact, he did a much better job teaching about it than I ever could, so I’m just going to point you all in his direction and recommend that you watch the devotional for right now.

I pray that we all remember what the only true “foundation” is that we can build upon: Christ.

Faith and Honor,
Elder Eastwood

About Koko's Mom

The mom of Koko "Puff", a Doberman pup, who has destroyed a lot of things...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

